Italian Championship RX 2021, what a final!

Last Updated on 9 March 2022 @ 22:34:09

Round 7 brought the Tricolore Rallycross to a close

Despite the bad weather that raged throughout the weekend, Round 7, the last round of the Italian Rallycross Championship - also valid as a round of the FIA CEZ Championship - once again provided great entertainment with duels and great overtaking.


Absent Davide Riccio (Hyundai i20 R5), who had already been crowned Italian Champion, in the RX5 category only LucaMaria Rizzello, in a Peugeot 208 T16 R5, raced, while among the Supercars, Rosario Corallo (Subaru Impreza) was crowned Italian Champion.


The first to cross the finish line had been Balázs Körmöczi (Suzuki Swift), but the Hungarian had received a black flag for an earlier misconduct. Victory therefore went to a very good Paolo Barbieri (Citroen C2), ahead of Silvano Ruga (Renault Clio), who with this second place becomes Italian Super 1600 Champion. Third position for Marco Valazza (Ford Fiesta). Of note was the performance of young Frenchman Julien Meunier (Renault Twingo), who was forced to retire while in second position.


Roman Castoral (Opel Astra OPC) was once again the Italian Champion in the STC - 2000, proving once again that he was unrivalled. He also took the victory in Round 7, ahead of Poland's Robert Dabrowski (Renault Clio), who finished just a few seconds behind the Czech driver. Third position for Slovakian Vladimir Marko (VW Polo), after Keke Platzer's disqualification.

In the STC - 1600 victory went to Richard Forster (VW Polo), ahead of Günter Chmela (Citroen Saxo), author of a spectacular spin without consequences during the final, in which Karl Heinz Himmelstein (VW Polo), who went to the wall during one of the Qs, could not take part.

Alberto Palestrini (Renault Super5) was confirmed as Italian Champion in the STC +2000 category: the final of Round 7 went to Michele Andolina (Fiat Punto) just ahead of the newly-crowned Italian Champion, who finished the race despite a bump against the guardrail at the last corner.

Kart Cross

A truly heart-stopping final: after an initial suspension, the race restarted with a surging Marcello Gallo (Lifelive TN5). Classification leader Marco Berniga (Planet Kart Cross), who was in hot pursuit, spun on the final straight being touched by Zoppetti and thus saying goodbye to his hopes of winning the Championship. Gallo, in the lead alone, was the protagonist first of a spin and then of an incredible slalom between the karts stopped in the middle of the track: in the end he still managed to close the race in first position, becoming Italian champion for the third time!

Second position for Gabriele Zoppetti (Speedcar Wonder), ahead of Riccardo Canzian (Speedcar Xtreme).

Complete rankings on